Explain the Number System in Computer

In today’s blog we will discuss on the topic “explain the number system in computer”.

As you know that the computer only understands language in terms of numbers 0 & 1 which is known as “binary language”. When we enter some letters or words on the computer, that time computer can’t understand the language. He translates that language in terms of numbers 0 & 1(Binary Numbers) so that he can easily understand.

Now, I am going to tell you about Number system so let get started.


The number system is a way to represent or express the numbers in a computer system which is known as the “Number System”. If we talk about the number system then the mathematical number system comes to our mind like real and whole numbers. But, In the case of computer number system there are only four types of number system are:

  1. Binary number system
  2. Decimal number system
  3. Octal number system
  4. Hexadecimal number system

Binary Number System

Binary number systems are those number system which uses two-digit 0 and 1 and their base is “2”. The base 2 of a binary number system is known as a “Positional Notation System”. Each digit is known as bit. The binary number is written only by using these two symbols 0 & 1. These two symbols have enough expressive power to represent any numbers. In a binary number system, the instructions are carried through an electrical signal which is represented by electromechanical devices with two states “ON” or “OFF”

Decimal Number System

A decimal number system is a number that uses the digit 0 to 9(0,1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9) to represent the number and its base is “10”. The decimal number system is also known as the “Positional Numeral System”. This number system is widely used in our daily life and It can represent any numeric value.

Octal Number System

An octal number system is a system that uses the digit 0 to 7(0,1,2,3,4,5,6,7) to represent the numbers and their base is “8”. The next digit of the octal number system is represented by numbers are 10,11,12,13,14,15,16,17. In this system, the base can be written as 8 otherwise by default the system assumed this in the decimal number system. This is because the computer system doesn’t understand the octal numbers, he can understand by converting this to a decimal number system as well as the binary number system.

Hexadecimal Number

In hexadecimal number has 16 digits in which it has both numeric and alphanumeric digits. In hexadecimal the ranges between 0 to 9(0,1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8) and A to F(a,b,c,d,e,f) and it base is “16”. In which A, B, C, D, E, and F are single bit representations of a decimal value.

A indicate the value is 10, B indicate the value is 11, C=12, D=13, E=14, F=15 etc. Hexadecimal numbers are “Positional Number system” where It requires only 4 bits to represent the value of any digit.

Note: In the upcoming blog we will discuss about converting the values like binary to decimal, decimal to binary, binary to octal, and so on. Till then, please check my previous blogs and comment below with your favorite topic which you want to know.

Leave a Comment